Chai Overnight Oats

After trying it for the first time the other day, I decided last night to make another overnight oats jar! It’s just so easy and I’m so lazy in the morning that it’s really the perfect breakfast solution. But me being me, I get bored really easily so I can’t have the same thing too many times. My first jar was a banana-peanut butter mix, which was delicious but I didn’t want it 2 days in a row. “So what to do!?” I thought last night, while sipping on a mug of chai tea. Why not a chai flavored overnight oats?!

img_2341

Honestly, this was really an excuse to just have more of that chai tea latte mix. I recently found it at World Market (aka my favorite place ever), and it’s an instant mix that I rather like, so I decided to give it a shot. The oats turned out pretty well! I wanted to add a little more texture and some variety into the mix, so I added some baked sweet potato and toasted pecans. The added sweet potato and pecans will give this dish a fall-esque flavor, so I hope you like fall 🙂

Notes! I don’t like large portions of sweet things for breakfast, so if you need a lot of food in the morning, I would suggest doubling this recipe. Also, if you can add whatever chai instant mix you’d like–I just happened to have this one on hand. Just make sure it’s instant (just add water types) or else you’ll have some weird tea bits in your oatmeal.

Chai Overnight Oats

  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Credit for base oatmeal recipe: Wholefully

Ingredients

  • 2 tbsp plain yogurt (I use Trader Joe’s French Cream Line Yogurt)
  • 1/4 cup rolled oats
  • 1/3 cup whole milk
  • 2 tsps chia seeds
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 tbsp Chai Diaries Insta Masala Chai (or your instant favorite mix!)
  • 2 tbsp baked sweet potato (diced)
  • 1 tbsp toasted pecans, chopped

Directions

  1. Make your base! In a bowl, mix together yogurt, oats, milk, chia seeds, chai powder, and salt until combined. Put in a container and let sit overnight in the fridge (or at least 2 hrs).
  2. Dice up some sweet potato. Drizzle (like 1/8 tsp) with olive oil and bake in the oven for about 10 minutes at 375F. I use my toaster oven since there’s not much! Set aside when done.
  3. Then toast the pecans in the oven on 375F for about 2-3 minutes. Make sure to watch them so they don’t get over-toasted and burn! After toast, cool and roughly chop.
  4. Take your oatmeal jar out of the fridge, top with sweet potatoes and pecans, and enjoy!

Let me know your thoughts and feel free to share your favorite overnight oats flavors!

Leave a Reply

