Red Lentil Curry

Sorry I’ve been so MIA! I’ve been pretty busy lately, flying back and forth between home and Denver. Now that my schedule is a little less hectic, I have time to sit down and share a recipe with you!

So I’m not going to lie– since I’ve last talked to you guys, I’ve definitely gained some weight. Part of it is eating out so much, part of it is stress snacking, and a large part is just pure laziness. In an effort to slim back down to my normal size, I’m getting off my butt to exercise more (no more excuses!), sleep at normal hours, and making more of an effort to try to eat out less. It’s hard since Fat Sully’s Pizza is right down the street, but I’m trying!

I didn’t have too much time today, but I knew I could still make something delicious and healthy. One of my go-to recipes is an Indian-inspired dish I found on AllRecipes.com years ago in college. This dish is easy to cook and pretty inexpensive, which was perfect for the poor and busy college student. I still think it’s a fantastic dish–packed with protein, low in fat, and full of flavor. I pared the recipe down to 2 servings because I always like having leftovers for lunch the next day 🙂

img_2264

Tips for this recipe! While your lentils are simmering away, start cooking your onions and spices. Once that’s ready, your lentils should be ready so your meal will be ready super quickly. Yay dinner!

Red Lentil Curry

  • Servings: 2
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup lentils
  • 1/4 cup onion
  • 3/4 tsp vegetable oil
  • 1.5 tsp curry paste
  • 3/4 tsp curry powder
  • 1/4 tsp turmeric
  • 1/4 tsp cumin
  • 1/4 tsp chili powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp sugar
  • 1/4 tsp minced garlic
  • 1/4 tsp minced ginger
  • 2/3 cup tomato puree (or 3 tbsp tomato paste + 2/3 cup water)
  • 2 tbsp frozen peas (optional)

Directions

  1. Wash the lentils in cold water until the water runs clear. Cover lentils with water in a pot. Bring to a boil, cover, then lower to a simmer. Cook until tender (soft but not mushy), about 15 minutes. Drain and set aside.
  2. Cook onion on medium heat until caramelized, about 15-20 minutes.
  3. Stir curry paste, curry powder, turmeric, cumin, chili powder, salt, sugar, garlic, and ginger into the onions. Increase heat to medium high and cook the spices for about 1-2 minutes. It should be a little crumbly.
  4. Add peas at this point if you’d like and cook for about 1 minute.
  5. Stir in the tomato puree, remove from heat and stir into the lentils.

Enjoy with basmati rice!

img_2266

Leave a Reply

