Could it be…? First blog post!

Well. After quite a bit of time talking about starting a food blog, I’ve decided to sit down and finally start typing out my first entry. My apologies, this first post is going to be pretty boring because I honestly have no idea what I’m doing. In fact, I have not written anything of length since college, so I may sound dull and not very witty. Also, this will not be a food post, as I woke up this morning with no intentions of entering my kitchen because I was overcome with feelings of lethargy. It’s Sunday! I’m allowed to be lazy, right?

So without further ado, I’d like to present to you my first entry for my blog, Table for One, a food and travel blog for the solo adventurer!

What exactly brought me to this point of view?

When I first began cooking, portioning was always a challenge because recipes often are catered towards a family of four. Sure, I’d love to try that pasta dish, but I really didn’t want to eat it for breakfast, lunch, and dinner for the next 3 days straight. I could share with friends, but I have a tendency to have moments of culinary genius (or hunger, you can decide what you’d like to call it) at odd hours of the evening, so having people over to help me sample my creations wasn’t always possible. Then there was also the problem of “Well what am I going to do with the other half of that giant head of cabbage?” that made things difficult because wasting ingredients also meant wasting fridge space and wasting money, and as someone that lives in San Francisco, I can’t exactly afford to spend frivolously (whether it be with fridge space or money!). After years of experimenting and moments of eating jambalaya at every meal for a week straight, I’ve come to learn how to properly portion and pare down recipes for 1-2 servings. Incredibly convenient for when I want to just test out random recipes I found through Google searches of “what to do with ground turkey” (The answer is nothing. You can do nothing with ground turkey).

When it comes to travel, trekking to a place by yourself can be a bit daunting. I know it was for me a couple years ago when my good friend Alec invited me to his wedding in York, England (where his wife is from). I had planned to go with our group of judo friends, but unfortunately, things came up and everyone in the group dropped out. What was I going to do? Quite frankly, the idea of going to a foreign (albeit English-speaking) country by myself was terrifying. What if I got lost? I don’t know anyone there! But with everything already booked and the decision to not miss my big brother’s wedding, I decided to be brave and do it. Turned out to be a lot less scary and daunting than I initially imagined, and was most definitely one of the best experiences I’ve had!

While food and travel are always fantastic to do with friends and family, it’s unrealistic to think it’s possible to plan events that will fit into everyone’s schedule perfectly. But what’s a girl to do when the stars don’t align? Starve and be stuck at home until they do? Certainly not! With my adventures, I plan to share my (hopefully) fun stories about food and travel and maybe even inspire you to take your own journey, whether it be culinary or sightseeing.

P.S. Table For One was taken on WordPress.com, so you’ll have to bear with jackiehauer24 for now. Not that Jack Bauer is anything ever to be ashamed of or sorry about.

One thought on “Could it be…? First blog post!

  1. Fantastic first entry Jacque! I for one cannot wait to see what kind of recipes you have for the world and all the fun travels you will take!

    Like

Leave a Reply

